Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 21063
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Questions about power source

Post by New_guy »

I just bought a Lagunmatic CNC with a Centroid M400 system. I am trying to figure out how to power it. The operators video said you can use 220 single phase to power it by hooking up L2 and L3. I was an industrial mechanic for years and went back to school and got my engineering degree, so I am familiar with all this. The question I have is, in the video it says there is a sticker for the voltage that the control cabinet uses, and shows a 220v cabinet. But mine says 120v but has 3 phase wiring across the main disconnect. The video also says that you need 3 phase for the spindle, but the spindle is controlled through the contactors and they get their main power through the main disconnect. I am using a 15hp vfd to run my 3 phase tools.So can I wire everything up with 2 different circuits, the contactors can be supplied with 240 3p from my vfd and the control circuits can be powered by another 120v circuit from a separate outlet?
New_guy
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No

Re: Questions about power source

Post by New_guy »

Just a quick edit, I know that 240 single phase is 120 to ground, and I could take a single line off my input to my vfd, or just hook up another circuit entirely. I think I would want to hook up another circuit as I would be afraid the VFD would produce too much line noise and screw with my electronics.

Another edit, tracing the wires, I looks like they go from main disconnect, to the contactors, then out to the spindle motor, so I don't think this machine has spindle control other than off/on. I'm not even sure it has directional control, unless it's done at the contactor